Seven Packers earn Pro Bowl berths

Posted Dec. 28, 2011 @ 10:11 a.m.
Posted By PFW staff

The Packers learned Tuesday evening that seven of their players need to book tickets to Honolulu for this season's Pro Bowl. The team's "Magnificent Seven" are: QB Aaron Rodgers, WR Greg Jennings, FB John Kuhn, OLB Clay Matthews, NT B.J. Raji, C Scott Wells and CB Charles Woodson.

Kuhn, Matthews, Rodgers and Woodson were named starters for the NFC squad. The seven players are the most the Packers have had voted into the Pro Bowl since 1967. PK Mason Crosby was named first alternate.

For Rodgers, it marks the second Pro Bowl selection of his career (2009) and the first time he has been named the starter for the NFC squad. The seventh-year veteran leads the NFL in passer rating (122.5), touchdowns (45) and yards per attempt (9.25), and ranks No. 2 in completion percentage (68.3) and No. 3 in passing yards (4,643). His 45 passing TDs are a single-season franchise record and rank No. 4 in NFL history. His yardage total ranks No. 1 in team history.  

Jennings earns his second consecutive Pro Bowl selection, making him the first Packers wideout to be honored in back-to-back seasons since Donald Driver in 2006-07.

Kuhn, who will be making his first Pro Bowl appearance, is the first Packers fullback to be honored since William Henderson in 2004.

Raji, a first-round draft pick by the Packers along with Matthews in 2009, also earns his first career selection. He is the first Green Bay defensive tackle to be selected to the Pro Bowl since Bob Brown in 1972.

Matthews earns his third Pro Bowl selection. He is the first Packer since RB John Brockington (1971-73) to earn Pro Bowl recognition in each of his first three seasons in the league.

Wells, a seventh-round draft pick by the Packers in 2004, earned his first career selection. He is the first Packers center to be named to the Pro Bowl since Mike Flanagan in 2003.

Woodson has earned his eighth career Pro Bowl bid and fourth straight as a member of the Packers. This will also be his fourth-straight Pro Bowl start. He is the first Packers cornerback since Herb Adderley (1963-67) to be selected to the Pro Bowl in four consecutive seasons.

Other alternates include LB Desmond Bishop, RS Randall Cobb, TE Jermichael Finley, WR Jordy Nelson, OG Josh Sitton and CB Tramon Williams.