Rodgers leading Pro Bowl vote getter

Posted Dec. 14, 2011 @ 3:10 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

Entering the home stretch of a campaign in which he has been the star attraction since outdueling fellow big-time gunslinger Drew Brees in the season's opening game, Packers QB Aaron Rodgers is the leader in balloting for the 2012 Pro Bowl with 1,263,045 votes, according to

Patriots QB Tom Brady leads all AFC players and ranks second overall with 1,149,721 votes. Rounding out the top five are Lions WR Calvin Johnson (953,575), Brees (908,864) and Patriots WR Wes Welker (896,198).

In addition to Rodgers, eight players from the undefeated Packers lead their positions in votes: FB John Kuhn, OT Chad Clifton, OG T.J. Lang, C Scott Wells, CB Charles Woodson, FS Morgan Burnett, PK Mason Crosby and ST Jarrett Bush. Plus, WR Greg Jennings is second at his position behind Calvin Johnson, ranking seventh in the league in votes received.

The Patriots are also well-represented, with Brady, Welker and TE Rob Gronkowski among the top 10 overall vote getters.

2012 Pro Bowl voting will continue online and on web-enabled mobile phones by going to through this coming Monday, Dec. 19, following the conclusion of the Steelers-49ers Monday-night game. The teams will be announced at 7 p.m. ET Tuesday, Dec. 27, on a special "NFL Total Access 2012 Pro Bowl Selection Show" on NFL Network.

The 2012 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, Jan. 29, 2012 and televised live on NBC at 7 p.m. ET from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.