Buktus Award finalists announced

Posted Nov. 22, 2011 @ 1:40 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

Alabama's Dont'a Hightower and Courtney Upshaw are among the finalists for the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top linebackers.

The Butkus Foundation announced the finalists on Tuesday, which were selected by a panel of 51 coaches, couts and journalists supervised by Pro Football Weekly publisher/editor Hub Arkush.

The collegiate finalists for the Butkus award are Lavonte David (Nebraska), Hightower (Alabama), Jarvis Jones (Georgia), Luke Kuechly (Boston College), Manti Te'o (Notre Dame) and Upshaw (Alabama).

The Butkus Award high school finalists are as followed: Kwon Alexander (Oxford High School, Ala.), Mike Barton (Concord De La Salle High School, Concord, Calif.), Noor Davis (Leesburg High School, Fla.), Quanzell Lamberg (Timber Creek High School, Sicklerville, NJ), Antonio Morrison (Bolingbrook High School, Ill.) and Jabari Ruffin (Downey High School, Calif.).

Last season, Packers OLB Clay Matthews, Texas A&M LB Von Miller and Tony Steward of St. Augustine, Fla. won the Butkus Awards.