Report: Patriots name captains

Posted Sept. 08, 2011 @ 10:20 a.m.
Posted By PFW staff

The Patriots named their captains and there are two surprising names on the list.

According to PFW correspondent and Boston Herald writer Ian Rapoport, the following Patriots players will be the team's captains in 2011: QB Tom Brady, OLG Logan Mankins, ILB Jerod Mayo, DT Vince Wilfork, CB Devin McCourty and WR Matthew Slater.

The way we see it

Brady, Mankins, Mayo and Wilfork are the obvious ones, as those are arguably the four best players on the team. It says a lot about how the team feels about McCourty, in just his second season, to honor him with the captain title. McCourty had a great rookie season, hauling in seven interceptions. Slater is the special-teams captain and also a bit of a surprise, but we know how much the team values his contributions on special teams, considering the Pats kept Slater in a logjam of wide receivers and cut Brandon Tate.