Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

Wire, Davis biggest Falcons cuts

Related Stories

McClure retires after 14 years with Falcons

Posted March 25, 2013 @ 3:03 p.m.

Colts add OT Cherilus, CB Toler

Posted March 12, 2013 @ 5:31 p.m.

Broncos sign former Chargers OG Vasquez

Posted March 12, 2013 @ 5:20 p.m.

Gonzalez says he's returning to Falcons

Posted March 12, 2013 @ 5 p.m.

SS Moore is staying with the Falcons

Posted March 09, 2013 @ 9:36 a.m.

Chiefs add CB Robinson

Posted March 09, 2013 @ 8:58 a.m.

Financing terms reached for new Falcons stadium

Posted March 07, 2013 @ 4:17 p.m.

No tag for Cook ups ante for Titans as FA approaches

Posted March 07, 2013 @ 2:56 p.m.

Atlanta Falcons: 2013 team needs

Posted March 02, 2013 @ 2:50 p.m.

Lions re-sign OT Hilliard

Posted March 01, 2013 @ 12:05 p.m.
Posted Sept. 03, 2011 @ 4:43 p.m. ET
By PFW staff

Updated 4:43 p.m. ET, Saturday, Sept. 3

The Falcons cut veteran defensive players LB Coy Wire and DE Chauncey Davis on Friday.

Wire spent the past three seasons with the Falcons, appearing in every game but one, including five starts. Last season, Wire, who mostly contributed on special teams, had 12 tackles.

The Stanford grad began his career with the Bills in 2002. In his rookie season, he played in 16 games with 15 starts and made 96 tackles.

Davis has spent six seasons with the Falcons and has not missed a game. Last season, he made 24 tackles, two passes defensed and one interception.

The team also released fourth-year DT Trey Lewis, who started one game last season.

Other Falcons cuts on Friday were TE Marquez Branson, FB Lucas Cox, C Paul Fenaroli, S Matt Hansen, WR Brandyn Harvey, RB Gartrell Johnson, DE Tom McCarthy, CB Kamaal McIlwain, C Ryan McMahon, S Rafael Priest, DE Kiante Tripp, S Suaesi Tuimaunei and LB Bear Woods.

The Falcons reached an injury settlement with WR Andy Strickland.

On Saturday, the team finalized its roster by cutting S Rafael Bush, WR Kevin Cone, WR Drew Davis, OG Andrew Jackson, LB Robert James, C Brett Romberg, DE Emmanuel Stephens, OT Jose Valdez and QB John Parker Wilson.


Comments ()