49ers thin at QB after cuts

Posted Sept. 03, 2011 @ 8:42 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

The 49ers announced their cuts on Saturday, with the most noteworthy player let go being No. 3 QB Josh McCown. With his release, the only QBs on the roster are inconsistent veteran Alex Smith and rookie Colin Kaepernick.

The other players released by the team were: CB Phillip Adams, C Chase Beeler, QB McLeod Bethel-Thompson, DT Brian Bulcke, FB Jack Corcoran, CB Phillip Davis, OT Derek Hall, WR Joe Hastings, WR Chris Hogan, WR Ronald Johnson, LB Alex Joseph, TE Nate Lawrie, WR Lance Long, S Chris Maragos, CB Cory Nelms, RB Xavier Omon, TE Konrad Reuland, LB Kenny Rowe, NT Sealver Siliga, LB Monte Simmons, FS Curtis Taylor, DB Anthony West, OT Kenny Wiggins, OG Tony Wragge and WR Dominique Zeigler.

The Niners placed second-year TE Nate Byham on injured reserve. Byham suffered a torn ACL early in training camp.