Browns waive eight players

Posted Aug. 28, 2011 @ 11:40 a.m.
Posted By PFW staff

The Browns waived eight reserves Sunday to get to the 80-player roster limit, including No. 4 QB Troy Weatherhead.

The other players waived were DL Kyle Anderson, DL Jabari Fletcher, DB Darian Hagan, WR Johnathan Haggerty, DB Brett Johnson, WR Juan Nunez and PK Jeff Wolfert.

The way we see it

Wolfert's departure leaves PK Phil Dawson, the last player from the Browns' club that returned to NFL play in 1999 still with the franchise, as the lone kicker on the roster.

First-year pro Jarrett Brown will vie to be the No. 3 quarterback behind Colt McCoy and Seneca Wallace.