Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

PFWA award winners announced

Related Stories

Jets' Idzik, Ryan address Revis rumors

Posted Feb. 21, 2013 @ 5:56 p.m.

Jets coach Ryan uninjured in three-car accident

Posted Jan. 22, 2013 @ 6:39 p.m.

Arians wins Coach/Assistant Coach of the Year honors

Posted Jan. 18, 2013 @ 9:27 a.m.

Jets' Ryan faces immense challenge in 2013

Posted Jan. 17, 2013 @ 5:34 p.m.

Packers QB to skip Pro Bowl because of injuries

Posted Jan. 15, 2013 @ 5:33 p.m.

PFW/PFWA 2012 All-Rookie team

Posted Jan. 10, 2013 @ 2:40 p.m.

PFW/PFWA 2012 All-NFL team

Posted Jan. 10, 2013 @ 2:38 p.m.
Posted May 02, 2011 @ 6:10 p.m. ET
By PFW staff

The Professional Football Writers of America announced their annual awards on Monday, which featured some very well-known NFL players and coaches. The awards are given from the perspective of media members and honor those in the sport who help reporters, writers and broadcasters do their job.

Jets head coach Rex Ryan won the Horrigan Award, which is given to the person whose qualities and professional style helped the media best do its job last season. Ryan is outspoken, with a sense of humor and incredible football knowledge, making him the perfect sound bite for print and broadcast outlets alike.

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers was named winner of the Good Guy Award, given to the player that best helped the media do its job. The Super Bowl MVP did his job on the field pretty well in 2011, too.

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reporter Bob McGinn, a correspondent for Pro Football Weekly, won the McCann Award, which goes to a reporter that has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage. He has covered the Packers for 32 years, including the last 27 on a fulltime basis.

Former Titans offensive coordinator Mike Heimerdinger won the Halas Award, which goes to the NFL individual that overcame the most adversity to succeed last season. Heimerdinger was diagnosed with cancer during the 2010 season, but he continued working after the diagnosis and did not miss any games.
The Ravens won the Rozelle Award, which goes to the club public-relations department that consistently strived for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media.


Comments ()