Bledsoe, Parcells nominated for Patriots Hall of Fame

Posted April 15, 2011 @ 12:19 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

Bill Parcells and Drew Bledsoe join Houston Antwine as the 2011 Patriots Hall of Fame finalists. It's the first year Parcells and Bledsoe are eligible, and Antwine's a three-time finalist.

Fans have one month to vote for the nominee they feel is most deserving of induction, and the winner will be announced the week of May 16.

Media, alumni and staff nominate players and/or head coaches who have been out of football for at least four years and are deserving of induction. The top three become the finalists for that year before fans submit their votes for the honoree.

Bledsoe, the No. 1 pick in the 1993 NFL draft, led the Patriots to the playoffs four times in his first six seasons in New England, including their second AFC championship in franchise history in 1996.

Parcells coached the Patriots from 1993-1996, inheriting a team that went 2-14 in 1992. Parcells was named the league's Coach of the Year in 1994 and led the Pats to the Super Bowl in the 1996 season.

Antwine played 11 seasons for the Patriots from 1961-1971 and finished with 39 sacks. He was a six-time AFL all-star and is a member of the Patriots' 50th anniversary team.