Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

Saints add to coaching staff

Related Stories

Saints re-sign Galette

Posted March 09, 2013 @ 1:31 p.m.

New Orleans Saints: 2013 team needs

Posted March 08, 2013 @ 6:16 p.m.

Chargers claim CB Patrick

Posted Feb. 20, 2013 @ 6:05 p.m.

Saints release TE Thomas, CB Patrick

Posted Feb. 19, 2013 @ 4:07 p.m.

Saints hire Rob Ryan as defensive coordinator

Posted Feb. 09, 2013 @ 10:50 a.m.

Ranking the NFL divisions for 2013

Posted Feb. 07, 2013 @ 4:06 p.m.

Williams gets reinstated, joins Titans' staff

Posted Feb. 07, 2013 @ 12:07 p.m.

In New Orleans, an unwelcome mat for Goodell

Posted Jan. 26, 2013 @ 2:36 p.m.

Saints fire Spagnuolo, Flajole

Posted Jan. 24, 2013 @ 6:39 p.m.
Posted March 14, 2011 @ 7:10 p.m. ET
By PFW staff

The Saints announced a trio of coaching moves on Monday afternoon, which will bring a change in leadership to the defensive backfield and special teams.

New Orleans promoted Tony Oden from assistant secondary coach to secondary coach; Mike Mallory has moved from assistant special-teams coach to assistant secondary coach; and John Bonamego was hired as the team's assistant special-teams coach. 

"Tony has worked hard to help develop our defensive backs and has a strong understanding of our defensive philosophy," Saints head coach Sean Payton said in a statement. "This promotion from within helps us maintain continuity on a defense that has continued to improve, especially in the secondary.

"Mike and John are both excellent coaches as well and men that I've enjoyed being able to work with. I believe Mike will be a strong contributor to our defense, just as he has been to our special teams the past three years, and I look forward to working with John again."

Oden has been with the Saints for the past seven years, while Mallory is entering his fourth year on the staff. Bonamego returns to New Orleans for a second stint with the Saints, having served as the team's special-teams coordinator during the 2006 and 2007. He then took the same job with the Dolphins from 2008 through 2010.

Comments ()