Brady unanimous winner of AP MVP award

Posted Feb. 06, 2011 @ 1:44 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

There was no surprise in the voting by The Associated Press for the NFL Most Valuable Player Award this year — it was all Tom Brady.

In the results of the voting announced Sunday, Brady received all 50 votes, topping the 49-vote total he received in 2007 when he won his first MVP award (Brett Favre received the other vote that year). It was the first time in the history of the award since the AP began using a nationwide panel of media members that there was a unanimous selection for MVP. Brady also won the AP's Offensive Player of the Year award.

Brady also won the Pro Football Weekly/Professional Football Writers of America Most Valuable Player award, announced several weeks ago.

In leading the Patriots to an NFL-best 14-2 record, Brady had an amazing 36-4 TD-INT ratio, and he set a league record with 355 pass attempts without being intercepted. Despite having the top seed in the AFC, New England was eliminated from the playoffs by the Jets, 28-21, at Gillette Stadium in the divisional round.

Brady and Peyton Manning have each won two of the past four AP MVP awards.

Brady, 33, becomes the eighth player to have won multiple MVP awards. Manning is the leader with four such awards (2003, '04, '08, '09), followed by former Browns RB Jim Brown (1957, '58, '65), ex-Packers QB Brett Favre (1995, '96, '97) and ex-Colts QB Johnny Unitas (1959, '64, '67) with three each. Joining Brady with two MVP awards is former 49ers QB Joe Montana, ex-Rams QB Kurt Warner and former 49ers QB Steve Young.

Here is a recap of the AP's awards for the 2010 season:

Defensive Player of the Year: Steelers SS Troy Polamalu

Offensive Player of the Year: Brady

Coach of the Year: New England's Bill Belichick

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Rams QB Sam Bradford

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Lions DT Ndamukong Suh

Comeback Player of the Year: Eagles QB Michael Vick

MVP: Brady