Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

Belichick wins AP Coach of the Year honor

Related Stories

New England Patriots: 2013 team needs

Posted March 08, 2013 @ 5:58 p.m.

With Brady deal, Pats again a step ahead

Posted Feb. 26, 2013 @ 11:38 a.m.

Patriots sign Brady to extension through 2017

Posted Feb. 26, 2013 @ 10:42 a.m.

Report: Patriots OT Vollmer has knee scope

Posted Feb. 22, 2013 @ 10:09 a.m.

Patriots sign former CFL DL Vega

Posted Feb. 19, 2013 @ 11:07 a.m.

Redskins sign DT Brace

Posted Feb. 14, 2013 @ 10:54 a.m.

Insider: Time is catching up to Brady

Posted Jan. 27, 2013 @ 11:46 a.m.

NFL: Brady fined $10K for 'aggressive slide'

Posted Jan. 23, 2013 @ 9:30 p.m.

NFL looking into Brady's slide vs. Ravens

Posted Jan. 22, 2013 @ 6:05 p.m.
Posted Feb. 02, 2011 @ 9:01 p.m. ET
By PFW staff

The Associated Press announced Wednesday that it has named Patriots head coach Bill Belichick as the NFL's Coach of the Year. It is the third time that Belichick has earned the honor, winning previously in 2003 and '07.

Belichick earlier had been named the winner of the Pro Football Weekly/Professional Football Writers of America Coach of the Year for 2010, his third time winning that award.

Belichick led the Patriots to an NFL-best 14-2 record in 2010. He became the first head coach ever to win at least 14 regular-season games in four separate seasons (2003. '04, '07 and '10). Only four other coaches — the 49ers' George Seifert (three), the Redskins' Joe Gibbs (two), the Bears' Mike Ditka (two) and the Dolphins' Don Shula (two) — have more than one 14-win season.

The Patriots set several NFL records — for fewest turnovers in a 16-game season with 10, by playing seven consecutive games without a turnover and with seven consecutive games with 30 points and no

In addition, the Pats finished first in the NFL in scoring (518 points for a 32.4 average) and eighth in the NFL in fewest points allowed (313 points for a 19.6 average).

Belichick has led the Patriots to a winning record for 10 consecutive seasons (2001-10). The only other NFL coach to have at least 10 consecutive winning seasons with one team since the 1970 merger was Tom Landry, who led the Cowboys to 16 consecutive winning seasons (1970-85).

Comments ()