Sunday night's inactives

Posted Dec. 19, 2010 @ 7:12 p.m.
Posted By PFW staff

The Patriots and Packers have announced their inactive players for the Sunday night game and the Pats will have starting corner Devin McCourty active while the Pack will be without QB Aaron Rodgers, which was announced Saturday.

For New England, RB Fred Taylor, WR Taylor Price, RB Thomas Clayton, OL Rich Ohrnberger, OL Mark LeVoir, DT Myron Pryor, DE Ron Brace and DT Mike Wright are inactive.

For the Packers, QB Aaron Rodgers, CB Pat Lee, RB James Starks, LB Frank Zombo, OG Nick McDonald, OL Marshall Newhouse, DE Cullen Jenkins and CB Josh Gordy are inactive.

The way we see it

McCourty left last Sunday's game with a rib injury. Without Wright, Pryor and Brace, expect rookie DL Kyle Love and Brandon Deaderick along with the recently signed Louis Leonard and Eric Moore to factor in the defensive line rotation. Vince Wilfork and Gerard Warren will be the only regulars on the D-line that are active.

Starks' addition to the Packers' list is a major surprise, as it seemed he might have been counted on to give the ground game a boost tonight after his impressive debut performance a few weeks ago. While Zombo will not be missed as much as both Rodgers and Jenkins, his absence is significant, since likely replacement Erik Walden shapes up as a pretty big downgrade.