Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

Referee explains Calvin Johnson no-catch ruling

Related Stories

TE Bennett says he's a Bear

Posted March 12, 2013 @ 5:14 p.m.

Detroit Lions: 2013 team needs

Posted March 07, 2013 @ 4:22 p.m.

Lions re-sign LB Levy

Posted March 06, 2013 @ 12:59 p.m.

Chicago Bears: 2013 team needs

Posted March 06, 2013 @ 11:51 a.m.

Bears DT Melton receives franchise tag

Posted March 01, 2013 @ 9:15 p.m.

Lions re-sign OT Hilliard

Posted March 01, 2013 @ 12:05 p.m.

Bears OT Webb arrested on drug charges

Posted Feb. 27, 2013 @ 3:15 p.m.

Trestman 'excited' to be Bears coach, work with Cutler

Posted Feb. 21, 2013 @ 12:03 p.m.
Posted Sept. 12, 2010 @ 6:04 p.m. ET
By PFW staff

With 25 seconds remaining in Sunday's Bears-Lions game, Lions WR Calvin Johnson appeared to catch a touchdown that would have given Detroit the lead. Johnson had possession of the ball and had both feet in the endzone, but hit the ground, placed the ball on the turf and let go of it after the apparent catch. The play was ruled incomplete and, after a long review, was upheld as an incomplete catch. The Bears held on for a 19-14 victory.

Following the game, referee Gene Steratore explained the call of incomplete.

"The ruling is that in order for the catch to be completed he has got to maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process of the catch," Steratore explained. "He's catching the football, as he goes to the ground, he must maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process. So, as he continues to fall, if he fell with two feet and his elbow hit the ground and came out it would be incomplete.

"The process was not finished until he finished that roll and the entire process of that catch."

 

For authoritative coverage and analysis of NFL news, free agency and fantasy football, visit ProFootballWeekly.com.

 

Comments ()


ABOUT TRUST ONLINE