Brees, Zimmer among PFWA award winners

Posted June 08, 2010 @ noon
Posted By PFW staff

The Professional Football Writers of America announced their annual awards Tuesday, and Saints QB Drew Brees, Bengals defensive coordinator Mike Zimmer and longtime personnel director Gil Brandt were among the winners.

Brees was voted the winner of the Good Guy Award — an honor given to the player who best helped the media do its job.

“The media is our strongest connection to our fans and it is important that we make ourselves available and be accountable when the time calls for us to meet with the media," Brees said in a statement. "The media tell our story and I recognize the important job that they have."

Zimmer received the Halas Award, which goes to the person in the NFL who overcame the most adversity to succeed last season. Zimmer's wife, Vicki, passed away suddenly on Oct. 8. The couple had been married for 27 years. Three days after Vicki passed away, Zimmer rejoined the Bengals as they defeated the Ravens, 17-14. Cincinnati's defense ranked fourth in the league.

"It's a credit to our players and coaches, (head coach) Marvin (Lewis), and my kids," Zimmer said in a statement. "They helped me hang in through the adversity. If I hadn't had them, it would have been harder to continue on. Our veteran core group of players really helped me in a number of ways. They were a strength for me."

The Horrigan Award, which honors a person who is not an NFL player or media relations staffer and helped the media best do its job, went to former Cowboys personnel director Gil Brandt, who is now working for

"I value my relationships with the writers, some of those going back decades, and many of whom I now consider friends," Brandt said.

New Orleans Times-Picayune columnist Peter Finney, who is in his 64th year covering sports in New Orleans, won the McCann Award, which honors a PFWA member for long and distinguished service to the profession.

The Houston Texans received the Rozelle Award. The honor goes to the NFL public relations staff that best helped the media do its job. This was the third time since 2004 that the Texans took home the award.


For authoritative coverage and analysis of NFL news, free agency and fantasy football, visit