Pro Football weekly

Comment | Print |

NFL introduces Walter Payton Man of the Year finalists

About the Author

Recent posts by Keith Schleiden

Jim Harbaugh will let son play football

Posted Jan. 28, 2013 @ 9:11 p.m.

Keith Schleiden's 2012 NFL predictions

Posted Sept. 04, 2012 @ 5:11 p.m.

Getting to know ... Ross Ventrone

Posted Feb. 04, 2012 @ 2:03 p.m.

Related Stories

What's next for Redskins if Fletcher retires?

Posted Jan. 17, 2013 @ 5:49 p.m.

Peterson, Manning among Players of the Month

Posted Jan. 03, 2013 @ 11:40 a.m.

Kerrigan becoming Redskins' all-around best defender

Posted Sept. 14, 2012 @ 4:05 p.m.

Patriots give Waters' No. 54 to Hightower

Posted Sept. 03, 2012 @ 2:25 p.m.

Patriots no longer sitting pretty at guard

Posted July 29, 2012 @ 1:09 p.m.

LB Fletcher announces return to Redskins

Posted April 13, 2012 @ 6:53 p.m.

McGahee affirms love for Denver after firing Rosenhaus

Posted March 04, 2012 @ 3:08 p.m.

Getting to know ... Patriots ORG Brian Waters

Posted Feb. 05, 2012 @ 3:02 p.m.
Posted Feb. 05, 2010 @ 3:35 p.m. ET
By Keith Schleiden

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. — The NFL introduced the three finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award Friday morning. The list of 32 nominees, one from each NFL team, was pared down, with Chiefs OG Brian Waters, Browns WR Mike Furrey and Redskins LB London Fletcher making the final cut.

The winner will be announced on the field prior to the kickoff of Super Bowl XLIV on Sunday, with NFL commissioner Roger Goodell presenting the trophy.

On hand to welcome the finalists were Walter Payton's family, including wife Connie, son Jarrett and daughter Brittney.

"Aside from being a time of excitement and anticipation, Super Bowl weekend is also a very special time for the Walter Payton family," said Brittney. "It brings us together to honor those who have been nominated for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. This year marks the 10-year anniversary of my father's passing and the renaming of the prestigious award. My father proudly received the award in 1977, and our family stands before you honored, as would my father, that this award now bears his name. My dad cherished this award because it recognized him not just for his skill and ability on the football field, but for his commitment to giving back through community service, as well."

The NFL Man of the Year Award was established in 1970, with Johnny Unitas earning the honor. Last year, Cardinals QB Kurt Warner was the winner.

Comments ()